Orchestral Developments

Dania Alzapiedi violin

Vivaldi - The Four Seasons
Haydn - Symphony No.101, ‘The Clock’
Kodály - Variations on a Hungarian Folksong,
‘The Peacock’

Music education is extremely important for all, so tonight we are
performing three works that are part of the current GCSE and
A-Level curriculum. We are excited to welcome back the hugely
talented violinist, Dania Alzapiedi, to perform possibly the most
famous Baroque concertos of all time: Antonio Vivaldi’s The Four
Seasons, a work that has inspired musicians and thrilled audiences
across the world. Joseph Haydn's Symphony No.101, nicknamed
‘The Clock’, opens the second half of our concert and we close
with Zoltán Kodály’s Variations on a Hungarian Folksong, ‘The
Peacock’. Kodály is one of 20th-century Hungary’s most important
and engaging composers, whose music is unfailingly warmhearted
and beautifully crafted. The folk-music flavouring that
colours much of it makes for strong, direct audience appeal.

Sponsored by Lady Ayckbourn

Shaun Matthew
Anthony Mason
Follow us
on Facebook
Scarborough Symphony Orchestra is a Registered Charity: Charity Number 1125060.
Concert Venue: Methodist Central Hall, Queen Street, Scarborough, YO11 1HQ