Niall McEwen trumpet

BRITTEN - Gloriana The Courtly Dances
JOHN CARMICHAEL - Trumpet Concerto
VAUGHAN WILLIAMS - A London Symphony

Benjamin Britten composed the opera Gloriana in 1953, ‘dedicated by gracious permission to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II in honour of whose coronation it was composed.’ The Courtly Dances are a single-movement suite of seven dances taken from Act III.

Niall McEwen joins us in the exciting concerto by the Australianborn, UK-based composer, John Carmichael. Written in 1972, the work showcases many elements associated with the instrument: royalty, military display and processions, while sustaining a strong lyrical melodic line and demanding virtuosity from the player.

We close with Ralph Vaughan Williams’ epic view of Edwardian London; his Symphony No.2, nicknamed A London Symphony. Premièred in 1914, the symphony underwent many revisions by Vaughan Williams and has now become a firm favourite of concert goers and musicians.
Sponsored by Lady Ayckbourn

Next Concert:

Shaun Matthew
Anthony Mason
Follow us
on Facebook
Scarborough Symphony Orchestra is a Registered Charity: Charity Number 1125060.
Concert Venue: Methodist Central Hall, Queen Street, Scarborough, YO11 1HQ