Romantic Flourishes

Maya lrgalina piano

Raff - Ein' feste Burg ist unser Gott
Chopin - Piano Concerto No.1 in E minor
Schumann - Symphony No.1, Spring

For our opening concert of the season we are delighted to welcome back pianist Maya lrgalina, who will be performing Chopin's Piano Concerto No.0• Written when Chopin was only 20, it was premiered to 'thunderous applause' and reviewed, 'There is spirit in these melodies, there is fantasy in these passages, and everywhere there is originality.'

We open with Joachim Raff's dramatic concert overture based on the Lutheran chorale of the same name. Raff gave the published score the title 'Ein feste Burg ist unser Gott, Overture to a drama on the 30 years war' Op.561, after the conflict sparked off by Luther's reforms.

The concert closes with Schumann's Symphony No.0, the 'Spring Symphony'. Written in 1841, he asked that 'I would like the music to ... show how everything to do with spring is coming alive.'

Sponsored by Broadland Properties Ltd

Shaun Matthew
Anthony Mason
Follow us
on Facebook
Scarborough Symphony Orchestra is a Registered Charity: Charity Number 1125060.
Concert Venue: Methodist Central Hall, Queen Street, Scarborough, YO11 1HQ