Gaynor Morgan soprano

SMETANA - Richard III Symphonic Poem
BERLIOZ - Herminie Scène lyrique
BRAHMS - Symphony No.1 in C minor

We open our final concert of the season with a wonderful work by the Czech composer, Bedřich Smetana. He composed this symphonic poem in Gothenburg in 1857-58, and conducted the orchestral première in Prague on January 5th, 1862. The full personality of Richard III makes itself felt right from the very start, leading from his victories to the foretelling of his doom.

Acclaimed soprano, Gaynor Morgan, joins us for Hector Berlioz’s Herminie. This cantata was written in 1828 for the Prix de Rome and is based on a text by Tasso. It features in the first movement the theme that he later used as the idée fixe in the Symphonie Fantastique.

We close this season with Johannes Brahms’s monumental Symphony No.1. This work is one of the great masterpieces of the symphonic oeuvre and is a fitting close to our season.

Next Concert:

Shaun Matthew
Anthony Mason
Follow us
on Facebook
Scarborough Symphony Orchestra is a Registered Charity: Charity Number 1125060.
Concert Venue: Methodist Central Hall, Queen Street, Scarborough, YO11 1HQ